Founded more than one hundred years ago, Richard Orfèvre is one of the last silversmiths in France to keep to traditional forms of workmanship.

To pass through the doors of its workshop in the heart of the fashionable historic area of Marais in Paris is to steep oneself in over a century of French fine living culture and know-how. In 1910 Edmond Ricard, a silversmith by trade, set himself up when he took over the Maison Grandvigne at 30, rue des Gravilliers. Since then five generations of avid silversmiths have called the workshop home, fired over the years by a shared passion to carry on the tradition of making exquisite silver cutlery. Beyond the entrance and deep in the back yard of an 18th-century mansion lie the forge and workshop where every day the craftspeople of Richard Orfèvre continue the traditional production of sterling silver cutlery. From tracing the outlines to working the metal, skilled hands deftly wield hammer, punch, die and other tools of the trade until the final touch is put in the form of two hallmarks stamped onto the silver to confirm the quality and authenticity of the finished item. The French Assay Mark bears the head of the Roman goddess Minerva and confirms the purity of the silver. The Maker's Mark is a diamond containing the initials of Richard Orfèvre on either side of two vine leaves. Two symbols of artistic excellence and genuine French craftsmanship.

JEAN-PIERRE COTTET-DUBREUIL, WHEN TRIED MEETS TESTED

The firm remained in the family for nearly a century, passing to Edmond Ricard's daughter, Gabrielle, who renamed it Orfèvrerie Richard after her marriage to Marcel Richard, and then his grandson Jacques in 1952. Francis Régala took over the workshop in 1994. In 2012 Jean-Pierre Cottet-Dubreuil became the new owner of Richard Orfèvre and wasted no time burnishing its artistic credentials with the opening up of new markets abroad. Jean-Pierre has been a source of fresh inspiration since 2002 when he joined the concern as a silversmith working alongside Danielle and Françis Régala. It was at his urging that Richard Orfèvre explored new creative territory, bringing in contemporary designers. Drawing on the newest trends in design, he keeps the prestigious wellspring of heritage and tradition radically relevant yet tastefully timeless. In 2013 he called on architect Grégory Monier to reorient the premises and turn the old shop into a stunning showcase adjoining the smithy.

In recognition of his professional merit, the Fondation d’Entreprise Hermès invited him to the Skills Academy 2017 on metalworking.
Since 2010 Richard Orfèvre has been classified an Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant, or living heritage company.
In October 2018 it became part of the Grands Ateliers de France, a group of notable artisanal workshops in the French tradition.

1910 - 1925
1925 - 1934
1934 - 1994
1994 - 2012

Richard Orfèvre historical marks

STERLING SILVER, A HEART OF GOLD

Making sterling silver cutlery is the trade at the core of Richard Orfèvre. All items are 95% silver (millesimal fineness of 950 parts per thousand), be they forks (fish, oyster, cake), spoons (coffee, tea, caviar, ice cream) or other. From sumptuous Louis XIV sets to more modern pieces, the cutlery collections on display at the Richard shop reflect all the polished style and sophistication of the French art of dining. The workshop also produces all manner of decorative objects such as classical candelabra, Art Deco plates and vases, and baby gift silverware collections.

Pérenne depuis plus de cent ans, Richard Orfèvre est un des derniers fabricants d’orfèvrerie en France à avoir conservé un processus de fabrication artisanal.

Pousser la porte de ses ateliers, au cœur du quartier du Marais à Paris, c’est voir renaitre sous vos yeux plus d’un siècle d’héritage et de savoir-faire de l’art de vivre français. À l’origine, Edmond Ricard, orfèvre décide de créer son atelier en 1910 en prenant la succession de la Maison Grandvigne située au 30, rue des Gravilliers. Depuis, au fil des décennies, cinq générations d’orfèvres passionnés se sont succédés à cette adresse, unis par une même passion ; celle de faire perdurer une tradition d’exception d’orfèvrerie cuillèriste. Il faut ainsi passer un porche et s’enfoncer dans l’arrière-cour d’un hôtel particulier du XVIIIe siècle pour découvrir cette forge et cet atelier, où chaque jour l’équipe d’artisans de Richard Orfèvre perpétue la fabrication artisanale et traditionnelle de couverts en argent massif. Chacun participe aux différentes étapes d’esquisse et de transformation de la matière, utilisant tour à tour marteaux de forge, bouterolles, matrices et autres outils spécifiques jusqu’à l’ultime touche : deux poinçons insculpés dans la matière, pour marquer l’authenticité et la qualité de l’objet ainsi fabriqué. Le premier, le poinçon de Titre, à l’effigie d’une tête de minerve pour authentifier l’objet en argent massif. Le second, le poinçon de Maître, est un losange comportant les initiales de Richard Orfèvre encadrant deux feuilles de vignes. Deux emblèmes signe d’une expertise haute facture garantissant une fabrication française.

Jean-Pierre Cottet-Dubreuil, Artisan d’un nouveau souffle

L’entreprise sera une affaire familiale pendant presque un siècle puisque se succèderont à la tête de l’atelier la fille d’Edmond Ricard, Gabrielle, qui renommera l’établissement « Orfèvrerie Richard », après son mariage avec Marcel Richard, ainsi que Jacques, le petit-fils du fondateur, à partir de 1952. Par la suite, Francis Regala prendra la succession de la Maison en 1994. Et ce n’est qu’en 2012 que Jean-Pierre Cottet-Dubreuil deviendra le nouveau propriétaire de l’établissement. Depuis, ce dernier a su imposer au fil des années Richard Orfèvre comme une référence dans l’orfèvrerie d’art avec de nouveaux marchés à l’étranger. Dès 2002, date à laquelle il intègre l’atelier comme orfèvre au coté de Danielle et Françis Régala, il insuffle une nouvelle orientation à la Maison. C’est à son initiative que Richard Orfèvre s’ouvre à de nouvelles formes d’explorations créatives avec des designers contemporains. En s’entourant de la jeune garde du design, Jean-Pierre Cottet-Dubreuil ne cesse d’apporter une identité radicalement actuelle à l’illustre Atelier, tout en perpétuant la transmission d’un patrimoine séculaire. En 2013, il fait ainsi appel à l’architecte Grégory Monier pour repenser les lieux et transformer la boutique historique en un superbe écrin mitoyen à la forge.

Reconnue pour ses compétences professionnelles, Jean-Pierre Cottet-Dubreuil est sélectionnée en 2017 par la Fondation d’Entreprise Hermès pour participer à l’académie des savoir-faire dédiés au métier du métal. Depuis 2010, l’Atelier est labellisé Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant.
En octobre 2018, Richard Orfèvre rejoint les Grands Ateliers de France.

1910 - 1925
1925 - 1934
1934 - 1994
1994 - 2012

Poinçons historiques de l'Atelier Richard Orfèvre

L’argent massif, au cœur du métier

La fabrication de couverts de table en argent massif est le cœur de métier de Richard Orfèvre. Toutes les pièces sont réalisées en argent massif 950 millièmes, fourchettes de table, à poisson, à huitres ou à gâteaux, cuillères à café, à thé, à caviar, à glace… De la grandeur du style Louis XIV au design contemporain, les collections de couverts présentées dans la boutique Richard révèlent la richesse et le raffinement de l’art de la table français. L’Atelier produit également toutes sortes d’objets de décoration telles que des candélabres inspirés de styles Classiques, des plateaux et des vases à la géométrie Arts Déco, ou encore des collections d’orfèvrerie de naissance.